My first experience of making opensource game and iPhone appstore

It all started, when I dove into the iphone development, almost a year back. As of my curious self, I started to dove into it more and more. It is all fun. Then came the time to see the approval process, it was the scary part of the whole development cycle for me. The steps were quite defined, but for a novice like me, it was just too intimidating. The motivation came, when one of my friends’ game, which was made in FlashIDE, got approved in 10 days.

I set myself up for some real iphone game development and finished up 2 opensource games, MathIsFun2 and CatchThemAll . Must say making opensource games is fun, exciting and gives one a lot of satisfaction. Even one fail to make an impression of idea or implementation, its never too late, and the community always helps you and pushes you forward. Then there is responsibility upon the self to finish things up with the same amount of enthusiasm as when you started the project. A lot of times it will feel to just leave it, but then it teaches one to be focused, motivated and keep on going till the end. Not an easy task but once put into practice, there is no more satisfaction than giving back to community.

A little about the games. MathIsFun, is a game where the game play takes the device orientation into account. Rotating the device, gives the player to play a different mode or state of the game. There are 4 types of questions ( addition, subtraction, multiplication and division ) Each side of the device is a different mode. And the user has to choose from the three options displayed on screen. the second game is about multi-touch. There are different colours on the screen and one has to choose, which colour is displayed for the maximum time currently on the screen. Since there are only five colours to choose from, one can choose with a single touch for one type of colour, a two finger touch for another and a three finger touch for another and it goes till five finger touch. While I myself is quite excited about the games, the community itself is also helping me out in the process.

The approval process has got its own story. I am not having an appstore license yet. One of my friends’ helped me by taking the first game (MathIsFun2) and pushing it to the appstore. Now, after sending it for more than 25 days (almost a month) and waiting till date, the game is in the cue !! Thats such a long time ! I am not sure what and how to fix, if there are errors in my code or something else.  Anyway, this is just to make things in perspective for others, who might be preparing their apps for the store.

Hope that helps someone and wishing you all the best for your application approval on Apple’s Appstore.

Author: saumya

designer / developer / maker / educator @saumya

1 thought on “My first experience of making opensource game and iPhone appstore”

  1. First of all I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick
    question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was
    interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head
    before writing. I have had trouble clearing my
    mind in getting my ideas out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Kudos!

Leave a Reply

